Skip to main content

数据智慧. 人力动态

珠宝及钟表业

珠宝业; 钟表业; 眼镜业 ...

覆盖:
1. 珠宝
   - 珠宝首饰及有关物品的制造
   - 珠宝首饰及有关物品的批发及出入口贸易
   - 珠宝修理
   - 检测及认证、宝石鉴定界别
2. 钟表
   - 钟表的制造 
   - 钟表的批发及出入口贸易
   - 钟表修理
3. 眼镜
   - 眼镜及有关物品的制造
   - 眼镜零售
4. 培训机构及相关组织(归入所属行业类别作分析)
   - 训练机构及教育院校有关部门及学系

珠宝及钟表业内部横幅

行业展望

经济情况

 

自2020年3月以来,新冠病毒疫情(疫情)迅速蔓延至世界大部分地区,对全球和本地经济带来全方位的打击。「二零二零年第三季经济报告」指出,香港经济的整体表现在第三季稍见改善,但内需情况仍然疲弱。政府统计处早前公布,2020年11月份零售业销售按年下跌4%,当中「珠宝首饰、钟表及名贵礼物」的销货价值下跌16.1%。随著本港出现第四波疫情及「保就业」计划於2020年11月不再提供支援,预计各企业出现裁员情况,劳工市场将进一步恶化,本地经济前景仍面对一定的不确定性。

 

珠宝、钟表及眼镜业情况

 

鉴於疫情未能受控,多个国家实施封关及暂停非必要商业活动,导致制造生产商(包括产品批发界别)减慢生产线或面临全面停顿,严重影响其业务发展。此外,疫情令各实体展览活动完全停顿,展览商决定把展览活动移师网上举行。海外买家及参展商可透过网上平台进行商贸交易,但此新交易模式却不予双方进行实体会面,令制造生产商产品批发界别在现阶段较难掌握如何透过网上交易平台接触有潜质的客户及解决相关技术问题。

 

疫情中断旅客访港,令本地珠宝及钟表产品零售界别的业务受到重创。香港及澳门等地区亦成为最差的个人奢侈品市场。以「珠宝零售」为例,售卖名贵珠宝之零售商店只能依赖向熟客推广产品,如使用智能电话定期进行直播或安排视频介绍。

 

在眼镜业中,眼镜及其配件(如太阳眼镜产品)除属潮流产品种类外,亦属於必需品。本地眼镜零售界别方面,为加强防疫,眼镜产品成为防疫安全产品之一,其需求上升。而眼镜制造界别方面,全球供求情况亦因疫情关系大受影响,当中对原件制造(OEM)的出口商业务影响较大。

自2018年开始,中美贸易摩擦越演越烈。随著中央政府於2020年7月在港实施「国家安全法」后,美国更取消香港特殊待遇和要求输入美国的「香港制造」商品之标签改为「中国制造」等措施。珠宝制造及眼镜制造界别则较受影响,部分珠宝及眼镜商品产自中国内地在进口美国时需缴付额外关税。为避免缴付额外关税,部份买家更要求本地珠宝制造商於其他国家地区进行珠宝生产或探讨在其他地区生产的可行性。相反,钟表制造则不受太大影响。原因是美国海关规定钟表产品(如手表)必须标名原产地,而机芯的原产地须清晰地显示在表面或表背的外壳。香港钟表产品可按美国海关要求继续报称「香港」为原产地。

珠宝、钟表及眼镜产品零售

 

过去数年,珠宝及钟表零售界别分别出现店铺过分扩张的情况。受疫情影响,此界别纷纷重新规划其零售店铺网络及调整人手数目,改变商店的角色及进一步提升客户的体验。业界预计未来其零售店铺的营运模式则不需大量人手。

 

产品趋势

 

就珠宝、钟表及眼镜产品趋势方向,随著年青一代消费者越来越著重个人风格及热爱传统工艺,「个人化产品设计」将成主要趋势。珠宝业方面,珠宝首饰已成为日常饰物之一及需配合展现个人风格,而其设计款式亦越来越受时装潮流影响。钟表业方面,业界建议企业将注入更多创新意念,例如与不同时尚品牌合作,引进更多「特别限量版」款式,增加多元化产品种类。此外,拥有更多医疗和保健技术功能的「智能手表」产品将继续成为其中一个受欢迎的产品类别之一。眼镜业方面,部分本港制造商亦把握时机扩充其原创品牌业务,及一些大规模的眼镜企业亦进一步拓展内地市场。

 

物流供应链改变

 

疫情亦令全球物流供应链出现重大改变,包括新经营和发展模式等。其中一个主要方向是加速了珠宝、钟表及眼镜企业进入「数码转型」去维持其业务发展。例如其转型涉及供应链的改变(包括产品生产线及货品运输)、营运成本、打破地域限制的产品宣传、顾客体验以及消费者购物习惯的转变等。面对供应链的挑战,企业应加强与供应商及物流商联系和合作,建立「可持续信任」的供应链伙伴关系,令其物流供应更加流畅。另外,在货品运输方面,企业亦可考虑与同业共享运输资源的可行性,有助降低营运成本,令安排更具弹性。

线上销售及宣传

 

在疫情影响下,部份大型产品零售商,除加强运用大数据去分析顾客消费模式外,亦引进更多人工智能和扩张实境等技术去发展应用程式,为顾客提供不同体验和更多「个人化」的产品及服务。

 

疫情亦令业界进一步使用电子商贸、社交媒体(如 Facebook、Instagram)及网上购物平台(例如天猫、京东、阿里巴巴、亚马逊等)为主要销售及宣传推广渠道。当中以中低档及时尚款式产品为主,其销售情况出现显著上升。而各大名贵珠宝及奢侈钟表品牌纷纷积极发展及使用线上销售及宣传渠道,以弥补疫情下实体商店销售的萎缩情况。眼镜业方面,一些本地眼镜零售品牌亦已开设电子商贸网站。部份本地设计师品牌亦透过线上渠道销售其产品,以及与本地及海外顾客建立关系。

 

在各种网上营销方式下,越来越多企业与关键意见领袖(KOL)/YouTuber 合作进行产品宣传,此销售及宣传方式将继续成为主流。部份零售企业亦鼓励或要求前线员工(如销售人员等),透过使用智能电话定期进行直播或视频广播,为顾客介绍各种产品/服务和即时解答顾客的询问。为加强香港市场的竞争力,业界亦需要定期参考内地使用电子商贸、网上购物、社交媒体平台及KOL作销售及宣传的最新发展。

 

线下销售及宣传

 

针对销售名贵珠宝首饰及高级手表的高档产品类别时,消费者依然倾向前往实体商店选购和享受由专业销售人员详细讲解名贵奢侈品的各种功能。对整体行业来说,业界表示电子商贸与实体商店依然成为双线销售及推广渠道,达至相辅相成效果,长远有助业务进一步发展。

Skip to main content

Manpower Dynamics. Data Intelligence

Jewellery, Watch and Clock

Jewellery; Watch and clock; Optical sector ...

Covers :
1. Jewellery Sector
   - Manufacturing of jewellery, bijouterie and related articles
   - Wholesale, import / export trading of jewellery, bijouterie and related products
   - Repair of jewellery
   - Testing & Certification and Gemmological laboratory
2. Watch and clock Sector
   - Manufacturing of watches and clocks
   - Wholesale, import / export trading of watches and clocks
   - Repair of watches and clocks
3. Optical sector
   - Manufacturing of optical products
   - Retail sale of optical products
4. Training / Education Institutions and related organizations
    (incorporated into corresponding sector for analysis)
   - Relevant division/department in training/education institutions

Jewellery, Watch and Clock Inner Banner

Business Outlook

Economic Performances

 

Since March 2020, the coronavirus epidemic has spread rapidly to most parts of the world, bringing a full blow to the global and local economies.  According to the "Economic Report for the Third Quarter of 2020", the overall performance of the Hong Kong economy improved slightly in the third quarter, but the domestic demand remained weak.  The Census and Statistics Department announced earlier that in November 2020, retail sales fell by 4% year-on-year, of which the value of sales of "jewelry, watches & clock and precious gifts" fell by 16.1%.  With the fourth wave of the epidemic in Hong Kong and the suspension of "Employment Support Scheme" in November 2020, it is expected that enterprises might lay off employees, the labor market would further deteriorate, and the local economy would still be facing uncertainties.

 

Performances of Jewellery, Watch and Clock and Optical Industries

 

As the epidemic is still not under control, many countries have implemented customs closures and suspended non-essential commercial activities, causing manufacturers including product wholesalers to slow down their production lines or even face a complete suspension, which have seriously affected their business development.  In addition, exhibitors have moved their exhibitions online as physical exhibitions have been completely suspended.  Such new transaction mode allowed overseas buyers and exhibitors to conduct business transactions through online platforms, yet diminished physically catch-up.  Manufacturers and product wholesalers have to face and solve technical problems to reach their potential customers through this online trading platform.

 

Under the epidemic, travelling to Hong Kong has been completely suspended.   The local retail businesses of the jewellery and watch & clock sectors have experienced a catastrophic impact.  The performances of luxury goods market in Hong Kong and Macau became the worst.  Taking the retail business in jewellery as an example, luxury jewellery retailers could only promote products to regular customers through live broadcasts or product videos.

 

In the optical industry, eyeglasses and its accessories (such as sunglasses) are not only trendy products but also necessities.  For the local optical retail sector, there is an increasing demand for optical products as a safety device to prevent COVID-19.  For the optical manufacturing sector, the global supply and demand of optical products have also been largely affected by the epidemic, particularly to exporters of original equipment manufacturing (OEM).

Since 2018, Sino-US trade conflicts have intensified.  Following the implementation of the "National Security Law" by the Central Government in Hong Kong since July 2020, the US has terminated Hong Kong's differential treatment and required the import of Hong Kong made products to the US to be re-labelled as “Made in China”.  Such measures have affected the sectors of jewellery and optical manufacturing sectors.  Escalated tariffs on some jewellery and optical products originated from the Mainland for the imports to the US are required.  To avoid paying additional tariffs, some buyers have even requested jewellery manufacturers to produce the products at other regions and explore the possibility of shifting production line at other regions.  On the contrary, the aforementioned measures from the US have not much impact on the watch manufacturing sector as the US Customs stipulated that watch products must be marked with the country of origin, and the origin of movements must also be clearly displayed on the surface or the case back of the watches.  Therefore, Hong Kong watch products can continue to claim as "Hong Kong" as the place of origin according to the requirements of the US Customs.

Retail of Jewellery, Watch & Clock and Optical Products

 

Over the past years, the retail sectors of jewellery and watch & clock had expanded retail outlets excessively.  Affected by the epidemic, they started to restructure the network of the outlets and adjust the number of staffing as well as changing the nature of the outlets to further enhance the customer experience.  Looking forward, the sectors expect less manpower to support future retail operation.

 

Product Trend

 

Regarding the product trend, young consumers increasingly emphasise on personalised styles and in favor of traditional handicrafts.  The “design of personalised products" has become a major trend.  For the jewellery industry, jewellery products have become one of the daily accessories to showcase personal style, and jewellery design is also increasingly influenced by the fashion trend.  For the watch and clock industry, it is suggested that more innovative ideas should be injected such as crossover with fashion brands to introduce "limited edition" to increase product variety.  In addition, “smart watch” with healthtech remains one of the popular categories.  For the optical industry, some local manufacturers have seized the opportunity to expand businesses of original brands, and a number of large-scale optical enterprises have also further expanded to the Mainland market.

 

Changes in Logistics Supply Chain

 

The epidemic has also caused a dramatic change to the global logistics supply chain and its new business model and development strategy.  One of the main directions is to accelerate “digital transformation” in the jewellery, watch & clock and optical industries to sustain business development.  Transformation involves the changes of supply chains including production lines and cargo transportation, operation costs, product promotions without geographical restrictions, customer experience and their shopping habits.  The challenges in supply chain management informs the importance of establishing a “sustainable trust” supply chain partnership between suppliers and logistics providers to make logistics smoother.  In terms of cargo transportation, enterprises should also explore the feasibility of sharing transportation resources within the industry which can help reduce the operation costs and make logistics arrangements more flexible.

Online Sales and Promotion

 

Under the influence of the epidemic, some large-scale product retailers have not only strengthened the application of big data to analyse the patterns of customer consumption, but also used artificial intelligence and augmented reality technologies to develop applications to provide customers with different experiences and more "personalised" products and services.

 

The epidemic has also led the industries to the extensive use of e-commerce, social media (such as Facebook and Instagram) and online shopping platforms (such as Tmall, JD, Alibaba and Amazon) as the major sales and promotion channels, mainly targeting the low to and medium-priced products as well as fashionable products.  The sales of these products have significantly increased.  Major luxury jewellery, watch and clock brands have also actively engaged online channels to sales and promotion so as to make up for the decline of sales at physical store during the epidemic.  For the optical industry, a number of local optical brands and designers have launched e-commerce websites.  To strengthen the connections with local and overseas customers, some local designer brands also use these online channels to sell their products.

 

Among various digital marketing strategies, product promotion by key opinion leaders (KOL)/YouTubers has become a major sales and promotion channel chose by enterprises.  Some retailers even encourage or require their frontline staff (such as sales representatives) to conduct regular live streaming or video broadcasts via smartphones to promote products and answer inquiries from customers in real time.  To strengthen the competitiveness of the Hong Kong market, the industries should regularly make reference to the latest development of e-commerce, online shopping and social media platforms (including KOL) for sales and promotions in the Mainland.

 

Offline Sales and Promotion

 

Regarding the sales of high-end product in precious jewellery and premium watches, consumers generally incline to visit and purchase at physical stores to enjoy receiving a detailed introduction of the features and functions of luxury products from professional sales representatives.  Generally, e-commerce and physical stores can become omni-channel for sales and promotions, which is able to complement each other to foster further business growth in the long run.